Kalevi Aho at 70

Kalevi Aho completed 70 years on 9 March 2019. He is "Finland's most significant living symphonic composer He is a master of multiple genres who in the course of his career has gone from Shostakovich-tinted Neo-Classicism towards Modernism, Post-Modernism and free tonality, combining these in a highly original idiom. Besides being a prolific composer, he is an influential figure on the Finnish musical scene in many other ways too.

Modus Musiikki Oy has published the next works by Kalevi Aho:

  • Sonatina No.1 for piano (1991)
  • Sonatina for two pianos
  • Accordion Sonata No.1 (1984/89)
  • Accordion Sonata No.2"Black birds"(1990)
  • Accordion Sonata No.1 for two accordions (1984/89)
  • Lamento for violin (2001)
  • Lamento for viola (2001)
  • Nocturne for flute (2002)
  • Five bagatelles for fl, vcl and piano (2000)
  • Quartetto Piccolo for String Quartet (1995)
  • Three Furious pieces for String Orchestra (1995)